Archive

Lip Sync Battle Comes to Life at Coal Ben


by: Jessica Buettner

Most people have seen the most popular celebrities put on spectacular performances for the popular television series “Lip Sync Battle.” The inspiration for the sensational TV show came from a segment on Jimmy Fallon’s late night show. It started being its own competition show with celebrities making appearances each week; from Anne Hathaway and Channing Tatum, to Dwayne Johnson and Justin Bieber.

There have been many moments from the TV show that have been some favorites for many people. “I think that when Channing Tatum was performing ‘Run the World’ and Beyonce came out, that was truly unexpected,” said senior Katie Miller.

Since the show’s season premiere started off with bang, Benedictine’s Programming Board decided to host a lip sync battle of its own this past Thursday. There was a chance for people to sign up to perform before the event came along, but there were others who signed up at the night of the performances.

Kylie Hicks, Vice President of Programming Board, wanted to give the event a chance since many of the students have been requesting it. The Programming Board hopes to bring it back for the students next year.

“We always try to bring back popular events,” said Hicks. “If the student body wants it brought back, we probably will.”

Katie Miller and Bernadette Pauls, both members of Programming Board, were also optimistic about the lip sync battle.

“At a wedding that I went to recently, they had a lip sync battle at the reception,” said Pauls before the battle began. “It looks like the show has been becoming popular and I’m excited to have fun at this event.”

Two of the participants, Melissa Taylor and Megan Roy Chaudhury, were a bit hesitant to go to the event, but were happy to be a part of it.

“A bunch of my friends and I were talking about it and it seemed like it would be fun to see what it was all about it,” said Chaudhury. “I felt like this event really gave me a chance to do something where I wasn’t bored in my dorm room for once,” added Taylor.

There were a variety of performers at this event who gave exceptionally awesome performances. From Disney classics such as “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” and “Do You Wanna Build a Snowman?” to blast from the past hits, such as “Jessie’s Girl” and “Bye Bye Bye.”

Each participant received $10 in munch money and the top 3 performers won a special prize. There were many people who decided to attend the event, resulting in a good turnout.

“I hope that if this event happens again next year, I’ll be able to invite some of my friends,” adds Chaudhry. “I’m sure that they’ll love being a part of it as much as I did.”

The programming board plans different events for students to enjoy throughout the year and there might be a return of the lip sync battle next year, so be on the look out!