Archive

Hozier Album Review


“I’ve Been Called the Song Bird of my Generation.”
by Nick Loconsole
@NickLoconsole
ENTERTAINMENT COLUMNIST

Photo Credit: Wiki

Photo Credit: Wiki

I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I did just quote Step Brothers. I’m stuck in 2008 and let me tell you, it is damn pretty great. With that being said, Hozier’s self-titled debut album is amazing and you should all listen to it. At this point most people our age have heard the song “Take Me to Church,” and whether it is on the radio or during a drunken haze, you probably liked it. There is more good news to follow; this song is just the icing on a delicious cake otherwise known as this album.

At only 24 years of age, Irishman Andrew-Hozier Byrne has taken the music scene by storm. A blues oriented soul singer with an alternative feel is exactly what everyone wanted apparently. He reminds me a lot of Jeff Buckely. Most of you probably don’t know who that is but take my word for it.

The album is definitely top heavy, the first three songs are “Take Me to Church,” “Angel of Small Death and the Codeine Scene,” and “Jackie and Wilson.” These songs are the best on the album; it isn’t that the album tanks after these three songs, but it definitely plateaus (BOOM GEOGRAPHY) out.

“Angel of Small Death and the Codeine Scene” is a very ominous blues driven gospel track. Throughout the song there are bouts of what sounds like a church choir almost, the different verses are broken up by a very funky guitar sound that cuts like a knife, this is probably my favorite song on the album. Moving on to “Jackie and Wilson,” this song is just a little more upbeat, but not by much. Again this is very bluesy and showcases his vocals tremendously. As someone who can’t sing at all, I am always enamored and impressed with powerful vocalists, Hozier fires on all cylinders on every one of these tracks.

The rest of the album almost ends up blending together, all of the songs are good, but the last half, especially after track five really gets a bit repetitive. I prefer albums which always keep my guessing as to what is going to come next, the first five songs on this album do that, after that things slow down and we hear more of the same.

Overall I give this album a 9/10. I am very particular about what I actually listen to, and I have listened to this album a lot since it was released roughly a month ago. The powers that be at the radio stations need to get some of his other songs on there because as good as “Take Me To Church” is, you can only hear it so many times before wanting to swerve off the road when it comes on. The secret motto of every radio station may or may not be “play it until you puke.” Throw this album on during the holidays, then brag to your extended family about how awesome and indie your taste in music is, they will all be impressed.