Archive

Where did all the cartoons go?


By Nick Loconsole
ENTERAINMENT COLUMNIST
@NickLoconsole

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

I’m not going to sit here and pretend that I remember the 90’s, but I guess you could call me a 90’s kid. I was born in 1993 and really don’t remember anything from the decade. In fact I don’t even remember seeing the Bulls win a championship. The one thing that I do remember from the 90’s however was the cartoons. I mean come on, was there a better time to grow up as a kid? The quality of writing on some of the shows that we watched growing up was unbelievable. Think of how in depth some Hey Arnold! episodes were, or how dark and sophisticated Batman: The Animated Series was. I have gotten the urge to go binge watch old cartoons I used to watch as a kid at least once a week for the past two months, if this is my quarter life crisis then I think I’m getting off easy.

With all this being said, I don’t exactly frequent the channels that show cartoons, so I could be missing out, but to me nothing will top the cartoons from the 90’s, that’s a fact. Rugrats, Doug, Fairly Odd Parents, Rocket Power, and Spongebob. Let that wave of nostalgia wash over you for a moment. Now bring it back. All of those shows were some of the best television a kid could ask for. Remember that episode of Rocket Power where Otto turns 11, or as Reggie puts it “double hockey sticks,” and thinks he is going to be awesome at everything because 11 is two 1’s put together.

Out of all these great shows, the one that really stood out to me was Hey Arnold! Very rarely do you get regular shows, which develop their supporting characters well, let alone a cartoon. Not only did the show’s supporting characters get well thought out back-stories, but they also got whole episodes devoted to them. Gerald has the episode where Arnold helps him learn how to ride a bicycle; Harold is Jewish and has an episode devoted to his Bar Mitzvah. There was even an entire episode for The Jolly Olly Man, it was totally not needed, but they did it anyway.

So what is the point of me just vomiting all this at you? Well the point is that I miss all of this, I miss being a kid with no responsibilities, I miss being able to sit around all day and watch cartoons, I miss being able to run into a wall at full speed, cry for five minutes, then be fine. I’m a senior and in a few months I am going to be thrust into the cold world with nothing but a piece of paper that says I spent four years studying one subject. So no matter what ends up happening to everyone during his or her college lives, always remember to watch cartoons, they will keep you sane, young, and probably stupid, but screw it.