Archive

The Role Almost Went to…


Tatanisha Wooley

SCENE EDITOR

 

Photo: Wikipedia

Photo: Wikipedia

When it comes to my favorite movies I could not imagine anyone else playing the lead roles. The chemistry is perfect and that actor was made for that certain role. There are many movies, where the role could have went to someone else, and I shudder at the horror. There are movies where I was like why did they turn down that role, are they crazy! Here’s to you Will Smith, turning down The Matrix for Wild Wild West! Here are other stars who miss out on the chance to play legendry characters.

Nicholas Cage as John Bender in the Breakfast Club

Can I say ewww…at that the thought of Cage playing Bender. Producers wanted to actor to play Bender, but they could not afford his salary requirement. He should not be expensive considering he’s terrible, and his acting is bland and not memorable. Would Cage have made me cry, laugh, and be mad at him all in one scene like Jude Nelson? Ok, I would cry, laugh, and been mad but only because he is just horrible.

Britney Spears as Allie Calhoun in the Notebook

As much as I love me some Britney I definitely prefer her as a singer. Has anyone seen Crossroads?… Awkward silence, everyone should be ashamed if you watch the movie. I choose to skip the movie, although I am guilty of watching the trailer. Britney as Allie working alongside Ryan Gosling, doing the famous rain scene! Nope! My head cannot wrap around that thought. Thankfully, Rachel came in and blew away people with her audition. Seriously, go watch her audition tape it’s amazing how talented she is.

Jennifer Lawrence as Bella Swan in Twilight

This, I don’t know how I feel. Jennifer certainly would have brought more face expressions more than the unlikable character. Who jumps off cliffs just to see their ex-boyfriends and not to mention she lead poor Jacob on even though he had a chance. Then again, there would have not been a Robsten. I prefer Jennifer as Katniss at least she is multitalented and selfless rather than selfish.

Tom Cruise as Tony Stark/ Iron Man in Iron Man

Tom Cruise is a great actor but thankfully he passed on the role. At this point it is hard to picture anyone but RDJ as the cocky lovable playboy billionaire. Tom would have brought different charisma to the movies.

Gwyneth Paltrow as Rose Dewitt Bukater in Titanic

Besides being Tony Starks love interest, what else has Gwyneth acted in? I am sure she is a terrific actress but I don’t think the movie would have done so well had she starred in. Successful movies are partially due to the chemistry between the leads. The chemistry between her and Leo would have been wrong.

Matthew Broderick as Walter White in Breaking Bad

Another interesting choice, Broderick would have been a great choice for the role. He is likable thanks to his role in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I am glad he turned it down in the end because Bryan Cranston has made that role. It will forever be remember as one of the greatest television shows.