Archive

Taylor Swift- Country Girl to Pop Star


By Jessica Buettner

Photo credit: Wikipedia

Photo credit: Wikipedia

Many people have been hearing about the new things that famous country singer; Taylor Swift is going to be showing the world through her new music. In order for her to spread her message, she promoted her upcoming album 1989 on a live stream on Yahoo! by premiering the music video that goes with her new single, “Shake it Off”. The song talks about how there are certain people out there who are detracting Taylor’s lifestyle and she decides to just shake it off while she continues to live her life. “I’ve had every part of my life dissected — my choices, my actions, my words, my body, my style, my music,” Swift tells Rolling Stone about the new single. “When you live your life under that kind of scrutiny, you can either let it break you, or you can get really good at dodging punches. And when one lands, you know how to deal with it. And I guess the way that I deal with it is to shake it off.”
The music video consists of Swift being a part of several dance groups at certain part of it all. First, she is seen a ballerina, and then she transitions to become a hip-hop dancer, a Lady Gaga inspired artist, as well as a cheerleader. While everyone around her is dancing in the way that they do, she is just having fun doing it her own way at the same time. Swift also told Rolling Stone that “It takes a long time to figure out who you are where you fit in this world…it shows you to keep doing you, keep being you, keep trying to figure out where you fit in in this world, and eventually you will.” With the song having a pop style of beat to it, it gives away the sign that Taylor will be moving on to a new era of her music. She announced on the live stream that 1989 will be her first official album to go down in history that is filled with pop music.
Going around campus to ask some students what they thought about Swift’s new song, and the fact that she is going to be releasing her first official pop album.

“I believe that the song sends a message of ‘let it go’ from the type of people who will say and do anything to try and break you down,” said freshman Aditya Kapoor on her feelings towards the new song. “Obviously, you are going to deal with people who are going to want to hurt you, but if you ‘shake it off,’ then their actions cannot hurt you.”
Jacob Linao claims his case, but he mentions his opinions that are related to another side of the situation. “I think that her new song coupled with the release of her new album is a clear sign of a shift. I believe she is slowly but surely transitioning from a sweet and innocent sweetheart to a more primary adult pop culture figure we see from Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez.”

Swift seems excited about her new album as she remarks to Rolling Stone that she thinks that “the goal for the next album is to continue to change, and never change in the same way twice…I’ll bring in ideas and they’ll take such a different turn than where I thought they were going to go, and that level of unexpected spontaneity is something that really thrills me in the process of making music.” Now, it is time to say goodbye to the country girl who came out with the hit song, “Teardrops on My Guitar,” and it’s time to say hello the new pop star that just released her new single, “Shake it Off.”