Archive

Restaurant review: Mercadito Chicago


By Gena Nabulsi

Staff writer

A group of friends and I had the pleasure of dining at Mercadito in downtown Chicago.  I loved the ambiance and the décor of the restaurant, and it was very modern and trendy.  Mercadito is a pretty well known tapas-style restaurant for a variety of tacos.  We ordered four different kinds, including chicken, steak, fish, and shrimp tacos.  They were all extremely delicious, but my personal favorite was the fish.  The flavors of all four kinds of tacos were very decadent and rich, tasting fresh. Each kind of taco had a unique combination of ingredients that enriched the flavor and made the taste so unique. Each taco had it’s own distinct taste.

Overall, my experience at Mercadito was great.  The only thing I would change would be the small tables because being with a big group, I felt a little cramped at the table.  However, I would still highly recommend this restaurant because I felt the food was unique and delicious. The quality of the food was great, and the environment was welcoming. If you’re having a hard time deciding where to go for a date night or a night on the town with friends, Mercadito won’t disappoint!