Archive

Just keep swimming, just keep swimming


by Payal Shukla, Staff Writer

Excited for "Finding Dory"? The Candor is! Photo Courtesy of yahoo.movies.com

Excited for “Finding Dory”? The Candor is!
Photo Courtesy of yahoo.movies.com

I’m sure many of you can relate to me when I say that the movie Finding Nemo was a big part of my childhood. The movie came out in 2003 when we were probably in elementary school. Every time I watch that movie again, I am reminded of my great childhood memories. Phrases like “P Sherman 42 Wallaby Way Sydney”, “fish are friends, not food!” and “Just keep swimming” are still heard to this day and many of us still find them humorous or inspirational . Being able to share the journey with Marlin and his friend Dory as they searched for Nemo will forever be a part of me.

I absolutely could not believe it when I found out that Pixar was making a sequel to this classic movie, called “Finding Dory”. In fact, when I saw the title, I thought it was some joke that was a parody of the actual movie. Ellen Degeneres, the voice of Dory, announced the production of this movie on her talk show, The Ellen Show, on April 2nd.

Ellen explains her excitement for the film, “I read the script and its fantastic, it’s hilarious, it’s warm, it’s everything that you want it to be.”

The director of the original film, Andrew Stanton, will direct the movie. Although this movie won’t be coming out until November 25th, 2015, I’m still so excited to see where the characters will go next.

When I first watched Finding Nemo, I couldn’t help but fall in love with Dory’s character. I would always find it comical how she could never remember Nemo’s name and how forgetful she always was. I would also feel so great for her when she would finally remember the address. Her kind and caring nature stood out to me because she has such a happy go lucky nature about her and you can’t help but root for her and sympathize with her throughout the entire film.

I think after falling in love and having such a strong connection with the first movie, I have really high expectations for the sequel. Of course, Dory wouldn’t be Dory without her trademark memory loss, so that is one thing that I will be looking forward to. As well, we never got to see a relationship build between Nemo and Dory, so I hope that this movie will give us a story that heavily involves these two characters. As well, I hope that Marlin and Nemo get to bond a lot more and show their true characters when they search for Dory. Of course, I also look forward to seeing what will happened to all of the tank fish from the dentist’s office because during the credits, it showed that they all successfully made it to the ocean! Lastly, Crush and Squirt, my two favorite sea turtles, need to make an appearance in this movie for it to be complete.

Keep on the lookout for more details about this much-anticipated movie! As Dory would say, just keep swimming!