Uncategorized

What Kind of World Do We Live In?


Last night at work, I heard the most horrific thing from a parent that made me want to slap her. Here’s the conversation the mom had with her daughter, who was about seven:

Daughter: Mommy. We need to buy jelly.

Mom: What for?

Daughter: I need to give it to the homeless people.

Mom: What are you talking about?

Daughter: They’re collecting food for homeless people at school so we need jelly because we have peanut butter at home.

Mom: You want to make them a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?

Daughter: Yeah.

Mom: And how are you going to give it to them?

Daughter: In a Ziploc bag.

Mom: (furious) I don’t have time for this. I’m not wasting money on homeless people.

What the heck???? What are you teaching your kids???? I couldn’t believe what I heard. Not to mention, this lady had money because you don’t dress the way she did if you don’t. I won’t go into huge detail about her clothing but I will say that she had a Coach purse that is currently worth $350, and it was real because I can spot a knockoff a mile away.

How about you not buy that Coach purse and take a few dollars and buy some canned goods and show a good example to your daughter. Instead of teaching her selfishness, teach her how to be kind and giving. It’s exactly things like this that shape the world we live in.

Maybe the little girl won’t be like her mom when she grows up and when she has her own daughter she will spend the few dollars to help others. But maybe she’ll take after her mother’s example last night and teach the same to her daughter. All I can say, I really feel bad for future generations when they are getting examples like these from their parents.