Uncategorized

Libs’ Weekend Insight: 9/5


Good morning/afternoon Benedictine, friends and family,

I hope everyone had a good first week of classes. We had a very successful first week of the new Candor Editors’ Blog (CEB). I hope you’ll stop by at least once a week to read some of our posts. We have six great minds combining to create posts that will be fun and interesting to read, so there’s bound to be something that will catch your interests.

Currently, I am on a mini “vacation” for my grandparents’ 55th wedding anniversary. My girlfriend and I drove down to the University of Illinois to stay with my sister and now we’re all leaving for Springfield. Let me pause here to drop a “for those of you who don’t know” moment…

For those of you who don’t know, I went to U of I once upon a time.

Let me give some advice to people who like neatness and cleanliness: Stay far away from here. Walking around last night only confirmed my choice to leave after my freshman year. I decided to leave mostly for the fact that I knew I didn’t want endless nights of binge drinking and distractions while I tried to finish my college career.

It only confirmed my decision last night, as I witnessed someone urinating on the side of a building while his friend threw french fries at him and laughed.

Do yourself a favor and take a moment to appreciate the fact you didn’t see that happening outside your door last night.

Anyways, it was still a fun night and U of I is a great school if you can get past all the distractions. We’re off to a bed and breakfast now to see the rest of the family, so enjoy your labor day weekend!

That and make sure to check our online editon of The Candor at www.thecandor.com.